Committee structure

Executive Committees

Executive Committees are those who have responsibility for all functions other than those which are specified in Standing Orders, Delegations or legislation as being the responsibility of the Council, a Committee or Sub-Committee or officers as Non-Executive Functions.

Non-Executive Committees

Non-Executive Committees are those whose responsibilities relate to matters or functions specified in legislation which cannot be the responsibility of the Executive or which the Council has chosen not to be the responsibility of the Executive, which matters or functions are specified in the Delegations contained in Part 3 of the Council’s Constitution.

Joint Committees

Joint Committees are those where joint arrangements have been established with one or more local authorities to exercise functions in any of the participating authorities, or to advise the Council.